Wheatgrass, the so called “Green Gold”

After my hot yoga class today, I decided to buy a drink at the smoothie bar. Since I usually am in a rush to get home, I never purchase post yoga smoothies, or protein shakes (which I should for hydration and recovery). I’m indecisive, so I ask the worker which smoothie she recommends.

“Our signature wheatgrass smoothie is my favorite!” She says.

I paused to think about it. I was so indecisive. I eventually said, “Yeah sure i’ll try it.”

I heard about wheatgrass before, and knew it is extremely healthy. But I didn’t know why it was healthy. God may have been listening to my thoughts, and soon enough I look down on the counter and there it was… A mini booklet that explains what wheatgrass is!

Wheatgrass reading

So what exactly is this “Green Gold” anyway? Basically, wheat, barley, rye and oat plants all produce a grass. The grass that develops from a wheat plant is called wheatgrass. Simple enough? The cover picture of this post is what it looks like.

This simple green plant has astronmical properties. That may have sounded dramatic, but it’s so true! Scientist believe that wheatgrass provide all the health benefits to sustain life! It is composed of simple vitamins, minerals, and proteins that our bodies can easily break down.

Wheatgrass is composed of high amounts of vitamins A, B, C, K, E, (and high amounts of it!). It also contains all eight amino acids, and all of the healthy minerals in soil. Some include; calcium, iron, sodium, and potassium. And if that didn’t convince you, wheatgrass also contains high amounts of chlorophyll which also has astronomical properties! That needs an entire blog for itself.

The catalog also provides how to purchase fresh wheatgrass for people in NYC. If you want purchasing details message me, and I will be happy to assist you. I am looking for some yummy recipes to make wheatgrass juice, and I will be sharing soon!

XoXo Bianca

Leave a Reply

